Training, Open Source computer languages

PerlPythonMySQLTclRubyC & C++LuaJavaTomcatPHPhttpdLinux

Search our site for:
Home Accessibility Courses Diary The Mouth Forum Resources Site Map About Us Contact
Warning - false emails, said to be from Paypal

I get a LOT of spam emails - phishing trips by people looking to steal my identity - asking me to confirm my details with the likes of E-bay, Paypal and half the banks in the world. The idea of the spammers is that you go on to what looks like the company's site to confirm you details but really you're on their site - with the same buttons, look and feel that you may be used to - and by submitting your login information you're giving them access.

There's a similar scam - I've seen before but suddenly had a batch in the last 24 hours - which tells me about a Paypal transaction I'm said to have made, and asks me to dispute the transaction if I don't agree it. This is likely to be an attempt at identity theft - a phishing trip - too and you should NOT follow any of the links offered.

Here is what my sample looked like.



My advise is to ignore these emails, but I'm slightly concerned in offering that advise as it's highly unlikrly, but possible, that such an email could be providing you with a warning that someone has already got into your account. You must make your own decision what to do (this is my "limitation of liablilty" statement!!).

Personally, if in doubt I "view raw source" and / or "complete headers" of the email and look for clues such as

Received: from apache by sv1.pacificasia.com.sg with local (Exim 4.60) (envelope-from ) id 1GM78A-0003LT-FD for info@wellho.net; Sun, 10 Sep 2006 02:00:38 +0800

as the last "received" header which tell me that the message cam from Singapore and

<a href="http://203.115.31.108/Sea%20Level/.www.paypal.com/us/login_secure/"><span class="ppem106">Dispute Transaction</span></a>

as the HTML that created the "Dispute Transaction" button ... the numbered IP address is clearly wrong (but beware - this button could have a rogue named server similar to Paypal's).

If still in doubt and you really feel you need to contact Paypal, do so by connecting to their system via your normal link or another route and absolutely NOT through any link in the email you've just received. Chances are, though, you are needlessly worrying - millions of false emails go out every day.
(written 2006-09-09 23:48:21)

Commentatorsays ...
Bruce James:The clues in the 'Dear Paypal Member' bit.. Real paypal would know your name, surely?
(comment added 2006-09-11 14:47:51)
Back to
Put the answer in context - it may be printed
Previous and next
or
Horse's mouth home
Forward to
Ballooning from Devizes
Some other Articles
Add to shopping cart - NO VACANCIES sign
Double and Triple equals operator in PHP
4 weeks to go
Ballooning from Devizes
Warning - false emails, said to be from Paypal
Put the answer in context - it may be printed
From the Manor written
Strikingly busy
The train returns for a few weeks
Fitting our bathrooms
1893 posts, page by page
Link to page ... 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38 at 50 posts per page


This is a page archived from The Horse's Mouth at http://www.wellho.net/horse/ - the diary and writings of Graham Ellis. Every attempt was made to provide current information at the time the page was written, but things do move forward in our business - new software releases, price changes, new techniques. Please check back via our main site for current courses, prices, versions, etc - any mention of a price in "The Horse's Mouth" cannot be taken as an offer to supply at that price.

Link to Ezine home page (for reading).
Link to Blogging home page (to add comments).

© WELL HOUSE CONSULTANTS LTD., 2008: Well House Manor • 48 Spa Road • Melksham, Wiltshire • United Kingdom • SN12 7NY
PH: 0800 043 8225 or 01225 708225 • FAX: 0845 8382 405 or 01225 707126 • EMAIL: info@wellho.net • WEB: http://www.wellho.net • SKYPE: wellho